Lidas up for Messier Award

Found this at Buffalo‘s website…apparently along with Drew Miller’s older brother, our beloved captain, The Perfect Human is up for the Messier Leadership Award.  According to the site:

The Mark Messier NHL Leadership Award presented by Bridgestone has been awarded since 2006-07 and is presented “to the player who exemplifies great leadership qualities to his team, on and off the ice during the regular season.”

Here’s what they had to say about King Lidas…


Nicklas Lidstrom, Detroit Red Wings

Though he’s only worn the captain’s “C” since the 2006-07 season, inheriting the designation from Steve Yzerman, Lidstrom has been a leader for much of his 18 seasons with the Red Wings.

Okay…but I think the award is supposed to be for leadership in this season…

In 2008, the Swedish defenseman became the first European-born captain in NHL history to lead his team to a Stanley Cup title. Six years earlier, he was the first European-born player in League history to win the Conn Smythe Trophy as MVP of the playoffs.

Okay, but again…isn’t this supposed to be for leadership in this season, or are we doing the whole Denzel Washington “should have won it before, so we’ll give it to him for Training Day” kind of thing?

Lidstrom ranks fourth in games played and points in franchise history. He has won four Stanley Cups and is a six-time winner of the Norris Trophy as the League’s best defenseman.


Are you going to say anything about what he has accomplished this season?

Lidstrom captained the World Team to victory in the 2000 NHL All-Star Game in Toronto.

Guess not.

“He’s one of the top defensemen on both ends of the rink,” Yzerman said. “He’s got really good instincts, and he’s incredibly skilled. He’s a really, really intelligent hockey player. Nick is your best player in training camp. He’s your best player in preseason. He’s your best player in the regular season. He’s your best player in the playoffs. I’m not sure what else he could do.”

Thank you, Stevie for finally making this relevant and in the present.  That was getting really frustrating.  The other candidates are Jamie Langenbrunner, Mike Richards, Alex Ovechkin, and as mentioned, Ryan Miller.

…so that’s two cheap-shot artists, a goalie, and Jamie Langenbrunner.  Should be a two-horse race, but let’s not forget that Cindy “Yambag Hammerer” Rosby was a finalist last year (but lost to Jerome Iginla) so who knows.

Vote for Nick here.

“King Kong ain’t got sh*t on me!”